Posted on

Barry Ryan is a Man Alive!

Weekend Barry Ryan Cover

Isn’t this the most amazing Weekend cover you have ever seen?  This tells the story of when Barry Ryan suffered burns to his face during promotional activities in Germany.  A very strange story, but nonetheless in keeping with Barry Ryan’s particular brand of operatic pop – melodramatic and exciting!

Here’s the full story in case you’ve not read it before:

Weekend Barry Ryan 1Weekend Barry Ryan 2Weekend Barry Ryan 3

To add to this, I thought I’d share the signed promotional card I bought at a flea market in Berlin.  The German lady who sold it to me said “Paul und Barry Ryan – Eloise!”.  Ha ha!

barry_ryan_autograph001webbarry_ryan_autograph002web

There’ll be more on Hero Culte about Barry Ryan at a future date.

Postscript:  I recently (August 2013) found this Muziek Parade Dutch photo postcard of Barry Ryan whilst on holiday in Amsterdam so thought I should share it:

Barry Ryan postcard

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

2 responses to “Barry Ryan is a Man Alive!

  1. zoexv ⋅

    This is great Raechel! I was thinking about Eloise and how I had loved it and Barry Ryan and then got into a Google search about Paul Ryan and the mysterious incident at Richard Harriss’ party that changed his life and led to him writing rather than performing and I got to Heroculte! Do you know what the incident was? xZoe

Leave a comment