Posted on

My Beatnik Doll

I need your help here, please – I bought this little beatnik doll from a flea market recently, well, I think it’s a beatnik doll…  I’ve named her Vali, after the dancer and artist Vali Myers, but I wondered if anyone knows anything about this little lady – what type of doll she is, who made it, where and when it comes from &c.

She’s made of hard plastic and has winking eyes.  I like her eye make-up, her necklace and the little sandals (painted on).  I didn’t want to mess up her clothes too much but I can’t really see any markings other than the “Empire” sticker which is on the bottom of one of her feet.  I’m assuming this just means empire made, but I know very little about dolls!

If anyone has seen one of these dolls before or knows anything about her, please let me know!  (Excuse the “stuff” in the background, you might have noticed I am a bit of a “collector” – or “hoarder”, if you prefer…)

 

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

One response to “My Beatnik Doll

  1. Christine

    No idea, sorry, but she’s wonderful! Also happy to see you’ve been blogging again 🙂

Leave a Reply

