Posted on

The Zombies vs The Daleks

I love The Zombies.  I bought this Fabulous magazine today just because they were in it.  It was a bit pricey but, get this, they’re in a photo story with Screaming Lord Sutch, Adrienne Posta and the Daleks!

fab208_cover_webfab208_drwhat_full_web

There’s also a short interview with The Zombies and a two page colour poster:

fab208_zombies_closeup_webfab208_zombies_poster_web

I went to see The Zombies in concert at the Tunnels in Bristol in May 2012 and they were amazingly good.  They seem like lovely chaps too – they sell signed merchandise and you can buy items from just a few pounds.  Whilst I was buying some of the merchandise – a poster and a book about The Zombies – my boyfriend saw Colin Blunstone and asked him to sign my Odessey and Oracle LP for me (Polish issue, original version – but without the fabulous artwork of the UK issue; as it’s one of my favourite albums ever I need to track down an original UK copy at an affordable price some time…):

zombies5zombies4zombies3

It was an amazing set they played.  Here’s the set list etc from the gig:

zombies2

And here are some of my photographs – the ones of Colin are a bit too close but I was stood right at the front of a small venue with my Diana F+ camera, which you can’t control too much.  There are a couple of funny ones of Rod Argent progging out on the keyboards – I used the bulb flash for a long exposure to get him shaking his head about:

zombies01zombies02zombies03zombies04zombies05zombies06zombies07zombies08zombies09zombies10

My pictures are not that great, I know, but here are some better ones taken on an Olympus Trip 35 by Dave Tinkham of Datapanik Design:

zombies01 zombies02 zombies03 zombies04 zombies05 zombies06 zombies07 zombies08 zombies09 zombies10 zombies11 zombies12 zombies13 zombies14 zombies15 zombies16Photos copyright Dave Tinkham, Datapanik Design.

I would recommend going to see The Zombies in concert when you can.  You can find out more on their official website and on Colin Blunstone’s personal website.

 

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

One response to “The Zombies vs The Daleks

  1. Pingback: The Zombies with a monkey |

Leave a Reply

