Posted on

French pop advertising from the 1960s

As some of you may have noticed I have had a little break from blogging recently.  I can’t say I’m back with a vengeance but here’s a little post with some of the French pop advertisements I have come across in a few of my Mademoiselle Age Tendre and Salut Les Copains magazines:

French pop ad001

This looks like Guy Peellaert Sylvie Vartan artwork for Simon cleansing milk

French pop ad008

France Gall is rehearsing, apparently, with two cute dogs (Problème and Nougat) whilst wearing a “Guitare” dress – a lovely photo but not a fantastic advert in that, at a glance, I’m not sure what it’s selling!

French pop ad005

Stone is wearing her favourite skirt by Gérard Pasquier “Vingt-Ans”, very nice it is too

French pop ad009

Did Sheila really have her own shop?  Looks like she did or at least she had her own clothing range anyway

French pop ad004

Rika Zaraï chose Odilène “the label of the stars” and why not?

French pop ad002

Is this really Sheila?  Well, it looks like Sheila advertising something else – some natural care cream and some make-up remover but can I see an image of the product in the advert? No.  It looks like Sheila is selling a bathrobe or something!

French pop ad006

This looks like more Guy Peellaert style artwork again – this time Christine Delaroche is wearing a Fric Frac outfit that could be purchased at  Gérard Pasquier “Vingt-Ans”

French pop ad007

No one famous this time (I don’t think!) but I like the artwork – very like Peellaert again – this is for Heyraud “Hipnic” shoes.  If you want to be “in” you need to get some Hipnic American-Style shoes – I’ll take a pair of Bingo!

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

4 responses to “French pop advertising from the 1960s

  1. Catherine

    I LOVE this post. I want the dress that France Gall is wearing. Right now–today, this minute, I’m missing my trips to France and I’m deciding–do I watch Amelie or do I pop in Pardon Mon Affaire? All those ads make me so happy. I think I’ll just listen to Michel Polnareff instead!

Leave a Reply

