Posted on

Jane Birkin in Women of Troy, London Royal National Theatre

Jane Birkin appeared as Andromache in Annie Castledine’s theatrical production of Women of Troy in 1995.  Although I obviously recall meeting Jane twice at the theatre whilst the show was on, I recall very little about the play itself except that one of the characters said “We shall go to Argos!”, which I guess is only funny if you’re childish and if you happen to have a catalogue retailer of that name in your country.  I didn’t even recall that Peter McEnery was in it, so it shows you how bad my memory is these days.

A few bits from the programme:

Jane Women of Troy003 Jane Women of Troy004 Jane Women of Troy005 Jane Women of Troy006 Jane Women of Troy007 Jane Women of Troy008

My ticket:

Jane Women of Troy009

A Royal National Theatre promo photo from rehearsals, by photographer Simon Annand – this is Jane with Rosemary Harris:

Jane Women of Troy002

A pictured I purchased from a photographer (name unknown/forgotten) who had taken photos of Jane outside the theatre:

Jane Women of Troy001

 

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

Leave a Reply

