Posted on

Happy birthday, Evariste

Today is Évariste’s birthday – by coincidence this past week I bought a fabulous collection of original press photos of him, so it seems somehow befitting that I should be posting them today.  I already had one press photo of Évariste in my small but growing Évariste collection – see it here – but here are 8 more.  Happy birthday, Évariste!

Evariste001 Evariste002 Evariste003 Evariste004 Evariste005 Evariste006 Evariste007 Evariste008

 

Postscript  Évariste sent some comments on the photos, which I thought I would share here:

E:  Some photos made by Paul Slade (Paris Match photographer) at Princeton’s “thé des mathématiciens”, others by Araldo di Crollalanza…

HC:  It’s true, quite a few of these were actually from the Paris Match archives, which means that they were the ones they used in their Évariste article; the one on the statue, the one with the girls and the one below that with Évariste in front of the board explaining something to his colleagues

E: Formulas written on the blackboard of this photograph may be found in http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k4015m/f535.image where the first paragraph described for the first time (in 1964) Moshé Flato’s basic idea of correcting the squared mass operator, to feature additional dimensions where quantum waves should propagate.  

HC:  What were you doing in the photograph at the top with the equipment and the cables?

E:  Posing for photographer… as if I was doing data collecting from an experiment. But the (improvised) speech in mathematician’s tearoom, where I explained mass formulas, was genuine.  In Princeton, where these photographs were taken in 1967, the distinction between “experimentalists” and “theoreticians” had more than a taste of Huxley’ s “Brave new world”: really two categories. It has taken the discovery of proteodies — those melodies which may not only be conceptualized, but tremendously experienced by the body — to blow away this distinction for me.

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

Leave a Reply

