Posted on

Serge Gainsbourg Has Nightmares

I recently found a French magazine called l’Echo des Savanes for £1 at a comic fair.  Quite frankly it was a bit rude but it had “les cauchemars de Gainsbourg” on the cover (as well as a big-titted lady in the nuddy) so I was obliged to buy it.  I’m not going to translate the text – too many word plays, too much slang, don’t think I’ll do it justice.  Anyway, you can make up your own version of Serge’s nightmares with the aid of the photos.

Apologies in advance for the quality of the scans (the magazine’s bigger than A4, so my scanner’s not big enough really…) but I had never seen these photos of Serge before and thought they were worth sharing.  Here are Serge’s nightmares:

Serge nightmares001

Sommeil agité mais néanmoins profond. Yeux hagards… Montparnasse!

Serge nightmares002

Serge nightmares003

Serge nightmares004

Serge nightmares005

Serge nightmares006

All images by Martial Lorcet, taken from l’Echo des Savanes, No 41, 1986.

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

Leave a Reply

