Posted on

1960s drawings of pop stars

As someone who grew up reading Look-In magazine in the 1970s, I love drawings of pop culture figures.  In the Teen World and Movie Teen Illustrated magazines I bought recently in America they had loads of drawings of bands – and not just all mainstream bands, some totally unexpected.  Some are good, some not so good.  Here they are and I hope you’ll enjoy them as much as I do:

Comic Music018

The Box Tops

Comic Music017

The Troggs

Comic Music016

Mick Jagger

Comic Music015

John Lennon

Comic Music014

Paul McCartney and Jane Asher

Comic Music013

Paul McCartney

Comic Music012

Herman’s Hermits

Comic Music011

George Harrison

Comic Music011 Donovan

Donovan?

Comic Music010

Bob Dylan

Comic Music009

The Human Beinz

Comic Music008

Jim Morrison

Comic Music007

The Bee Gees (look at those teeth and the evil guy lurking at the  back right, shiver!)

Comic Music006

Um, this is Mick Jagger!

Comic Music005

Mick Jagger

Comic Music004

Cream (another evil looking guy lurking around at the back…)

Comic Music003

John Lennon

Comic Music002

The Rolling Stones

Comic Music002 Dave Clark 5

The Dave Clark Five

Comic Music002 Byrds

The Byrds

Comic Music002 Beatles

The Beatles (but look at Ringo’s tiny legs!)

Comic Music001

Herman’s Hermits

Comic Music001 Sonny Cher

Sonny & Cher

Comic Music001 Ringo Maureen

Ringo & Maureen Starr

Comic Music001 Beach Boys

The Beach Boys

Comic Music001 Animals

The Animals

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

7 responses to “1960s drawings of pop stars

  1. delia ⋅

    cool – i like the way they have to label themselves with little name-badges so you know who the heck they’re supposed to be….

    • I know – some of them definitely need the name tags and even then you’re still not sure! But some of them are really excellent. I wish I’d bought more of these magazines now…

  2. R. Rooksby ⋅

    This is terrific – I adore this stuff! It reminds me of the comics my mum & gran used to buy for me in the early ’70s, remaindered mags from Fords (!) that cost a couple of pence each & featured Monkees cartoon strips, etc. 🙂

    • We used to have this kind of motor vehicle accessories store called Fred Hartley’s in Sherwood – you could get stuff like packets of sweets, records and even comic books there. I’d totally forgotten about Fords though. Everything these days is a blast from the past. I am getting old…

  3. Ha, I know the exact Fred Hartley’s store you mean – my mum used to buy me remaindered ex-jukebox 7″s from there! Anything from Abba to Bowie to The Sensational Alex Harvey Band – & they all came in the same flimsy generic sleeve… they were called Pop-Ex, I think? 🙂

  4. Both Pop-Ex sleeves that I remember are included here: http://crossedcombs.typepad.com/recordenvelope/2012/02/ex-juke-box-records-sleeves.html
    …I’d forgotten Fred H’s was actually a car spares shop until I read your post!

Leave a Reply

