Posted on

My Favourite Stuff: Leonie En Alabama Japanese single

I was very pleased to add this lovely Japanese Léonie single to my collection.  I had seen a photograph of it before on a French vinyl database site but I never thought I would manage to track a copy down.  I’m not sure if the Disques Motors version is in stereo, but this one is mono.  The running times are exactly the same, so there’s no apparent difference in the versions.  The photograph on the cover is another shot from the Jardin Anglais photo shoot – a nicer one, I think.  The lyrics are provided on the back of the record sleeve.

Label – Victor World Group

Catalogue No – JET-2092 (VIR – 1031) (MT-4014)

Matrix / Runout: Side 1  MT 4014 A K11 1+ 3

Matrix / Runout: Side 2  MT 4014 B 11 +

Leonie Japanese001Leonie Japanese002Leonie Japanese003Leonie Japanese004

I have also found a little article in English referencing Léonie – it’s from Billboard 3 February 1968.  Makes you wonder whether Philips made Léonie dress like that for the sleeve of the EP just to cash in on the Bonnie & Clyde craze.  Funny thing is, I have a French music show from that period which was entirely Bonnie & Clyde themed (Serge Gainsbourg plays Bonnie & Clyde on a ukulele as he has no Bardot to duet with!) but Léonie does not make an appearance on the show.

Leonie Billboard 3 Feb 1968

 

 

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

Leave a Reply

