Posted on

Lost and Found: Gideon Bachmann interview with Alain Resnais

I’m pretty nosy, right.  Some of you may have read my previous post about the handwritten notes for a music industry gossip book that I found in a junk shop and felt obliged to purchase out of nosiness (if not you can see it here) but this latest find will appeal to a different audience.  This is Gideon Bachmann’s typewritten interview with the film director Alain Resnais and I am not 100% sure where it comes from.  There is a handwritten address on the back of the document:

Resnais006

I can’t decipher this entirely but it seems to say Esoteric, 22 C…… Chambers, Buc[kingham] Palace Road, SW1 and SCO 6704.  I haven’t been able to track down a film magazine registered in that area in the early 1960s so I don’t know if or when this article was ever published.  If anyone can help with that, please let me know.  Also, don’t hesitate to get in touch if the publication of this document infringes copyright &c.

Anyway, here is the interview complete with strikes-through:

Resnais001 Resnais002 Resnais003 Resnais004 Resnais005

What I find interesting about this is that Gideon Bachmann mentions, in the footnote, that Alain Resnais was then working on a fantasy thriller called The Adventures of Harry Dickson.  This, of course, was a film that was never made.  The character Harry Dickson was based on a pulp magazine detective similar to Sherlock Holmes, so it would have been amazing had the project ever been fulfilled; I can’t imagine what the results would have been.  According to an article on Cine City  Basil Rathbone, Laurence Olivier, Peter O’Toole, Kirk Douglas, Tony Curtis, David Niven, Rock Hudson and Dirk Bogarde were all considered for the role of Harry Dickson.  The other thing that interests me is Gideon Bachmann – looking him up I see he was a friend of Fellini (he not only directed the film Ciao, Federico! about him but also appeared in in a bit part) and he has interviewed everyone from Tarkovsky to Pasolini to Herzog.  He looks like an interesting chap and I am going to look up some of his other interviews now – nosiness has its benefits after all!

I hope this is of interest to Hero Culte readers, but do get in touch if you can shed any light on the origins of this interview.

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

Leave a Reply

