Posted on

Margaret Lee in Stop Magazine

Here’s an article about one of my favourite actresses: Margaret Lee.  It’s from a French magazine called Stop (issue no 28).   There’s no interview as such – it just says that the readers of Stop magazine had written in requesting to see more of Margaret and, of course, Stop magazine were only too happy to oblige with several pages of photos (some topless).

The article says that Margaret was engaged as Marilyn Monroe’s double for the film Something’s Got to Give (and looking at the photos in Stop you can see why) but that she had recently made an appearance in an Italian film called Avventura al motel (dir Renato Polselli, 1963).  I haven’t see that film but it seems it is little more than a series of sketches about a number of people who were having illicit affairs in a motel.  They seemed to have a lot of those silly sketch films in Italy in the early 1960s – I’m sure Margaret could have been used to better effect elsewhere, but I guess she always looked fabulous so what the hell, eh?

Anyway, judge for yourself – here she is:

margaret-lee---stop001 margaret-lee---stop002 margaret-lee---stop003 margaret-lee---stop004

 

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

5 responses to “Margaret Lee in Stop Magazine

  1. Wayne ⋅

    Great to see Margaret Lee still receiving admiration after all this time. Thanks for bringing this magazine piece to light. I would love to chat with you sometime about Margaret and some of her films. If possible, drop a line my way!

    • Thanks for visiting the site, Wayne. I’m a big fan of Margaret Lee – have you seen my interview with her on my other (now defunct) site Du dumme Sau! ? It’s pretty good, especially as she rarely gives interviews these days. I’ll drop you a line. All the best Raechel

      • Wayne ⋅

        I did indeed. Very cool! My friend is also friends with Margaret and from the things he has told me about her she sounds like an interesting and sweet person. Thanks for getting back to me…I hope we can chat more soon! W.

  2. Liz Barnard ⋅

    Do either of you have any documentation about Patrick Anderson’s relationship with Margaret? He was the father of her son Damian Anderson. I am editing Patrick’s memoir.

    • Hi Liz! No, sorry, I didn’t discuss Margaret’s marriages with her – my interview with her concentrated on her career. Good luck with finding out what you need to know. Best wishes Raechel

Leave a Reply

