Posted on

My Favourite Stuff: Kurt Vonnegut signed print

There’s not a lot to say about this except it’s an official Kurt Vonnegut print, numbered 2 out of 60, and signed by the great man himself.  It’s one of my most favourite items and I get so much joy from just seeing it hanging on the wall every day.

I only read my first Kurt Vonnegut novel (Breakfast of Champions) about 3 years ago but I fell in love with his style of writing (and his illustrations!) immediately and I’ve been a big fan ever since.  I am working my way through his back catalogue now.  Kurt Vonnegut had an amazing outlook on life and how we live – he makes excellent hero material.  I’d like to subscribe to his philosophy of life:  “I tell you, we are here on Earth to fart around, and don’t let anybody tell you different.”

If you would like one of these fabulous prints yourself, they still have some available on the official site: http://www.vonnegut.com/art.asp

 

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

2 responses to “My Favourite Stuff: Kurt Vonnegut signed print

  1. Vonnegut’s zany and surreal world reflects the absurdity of our own and really bended my mind to different modes of thinking. His work has inspired my own visual arts for quite some time and I created a tribute illustration of the author with the help of an old typewriter. You can see it at http://dregstudiosart.blogspot.com/2011/11/happy-birthday-mr-vonnegut.html and tell me how his work and words also affected you.

    • Hi Brandt! Thanks for sending the link to your Vonnegut artwork – what a lovely website. I’ll have to think what I’d like to say about how Kurt’s work and words have affected me; his work certainly makes life a lot more fun for me, that’s for sure. Anyway, I’ll think about it and I hope that other people will check out your portrait too. By the way, how did you use an old typewriter to create the work?

Leave a Reply

