Posted on

My Favourite Stuff: Pop-Up Francoise Hardy

Many years ago I found this Françoise Hardy album at a record fair in Birmingham.  I wanted it for all the German language tracks I didn’t have (see track listing below) but what made it even more desirable was the fact that it is a gatefold album with a pop-up Françoise inside it.  I had never seen the album before and I have never seen another copy since (other than a couple of shots of it on the internet) so it has become one of the items I am most proud of in my French singers collection.  Here’s the rather spectacular pop-up:

The track listing is as follows:

  • Die roten Russenstiefel (German language version of Des bottes rouges de Russie)
  • Bald ist so lange her (German language version of Soon is Slipping Away)
  • Er muß reisen (German language version of Il voyage)
  • Fremde Schatten (German language version of Strange Shadows / L’Ombre)
  • Das tut weh (German language version of Les doigts dans la porte)
  • Souvenirs der ersten großen Liebe
  • Träume
  • Einmal, wenn du gehst
  • Zeig mir bei Nacht die Sterne (German language version of Let It Be Me / Je t’appartiens)
  • Was mach’ ich ohne dich (German language version of It Hurts To Say Goodbye / Comment te dire adieu)
  • Wie im Kreis (German language version of All Because of You)
  • Höre auf den Nachtwind (German language version of Song of Winter / Fleur de lune)

The title track to the album, Träume, was performed on an episode of the TV show Sacha Distel : Sylvie Vartan, 29 December 1969.  It’s a wonderful song and the performance, which is very reminiscent of Marlene Dietrich in Der blaue Engel, can be found on the official DVD Françoise Hardy Le temps des souvenirs (Virgin / EMI):

I was also delighted to hear the song featured in Gouttes d’eau sur pierres brûlantes (Water Drops on Burning Rocks), a film by François Ozon based on a play by Rainer Werner Fassbinder.

I will include more of my Françoise Hardy items on here shortly as I have quite a nice collection of 1960s sheet music, some original photographs and a lot of vinyl in a variety of languages.

About tinynoggin

I love films (anything from exploitation stuff to stylish Eastern European cinema, but I'm not really into blockbusters and modern Hollywood), music (Serge Gainsbourg, Jane Birkin, Michel Polnareff, Left Banke, Francoise Hardy, The Seeds, Love, The Zombies, etc) and books (Kurt Vonnegut, Julian Maclaren-Ross, Michel Houellebecq, Patrick Hamilton, Alan Sillitoe, and more). I take photographs with my Lomography Diana F plus or my Olympus Trip and like making stuff in my spare time.

Leave a Reply

